Board of Directors

Our Board

The Terry Fox Foundation is supported by an independent Board of Directors, which provides volunteer leadership to maintain Terry’s vision and principles in a wide range of fundraising activities for cancer research. The Board of Directors is responsible for the Foundation’s long-term financial health and for the growth and management of its financial assets.

Isadore Sharp
Chair Emeritus

Isadore Sharp (Toronto) is the Founder and Chairman of Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts. Isadore reached out to Terry in the early days of his Marathon of Hope, offering both personal and corporate support for his run. When Terry was forced to finish due to a return of cancer, Isadore promised him, via telegram, that there would be an annual run in his name until a cure for all cancers was found. The Terry Fox Run at Wilket Creek Park in Toronto was founded by Isadore and is led by the employees of Four Seasons Home Office; the Run reached the $12 million mark in 2020.

Michael Rossi

Michael Rossi (Toronto) has recently transitioned out of his role as President of adidas Canada, where he led Canadian operations for the adidas and Reebok brands since 2014. Under Michael’s leadership, the adidas 40th Anniversary Terry Fox Campaign raised over $1.6M for The Terry Fox Foundation.

Stephen Bear

Stephen Bear (Toronto) served as a Senior Partner of McKinsey & Company until his retirement in April 2013. Mr Bear has served as a board member of the Princess Margaret Cancer Foundation (including as Chair of the Board), Street Kids International, the Foreign Investment Advisory Committee to the Seoul government in Korea, and as a member of the United Way of Toronto Cabinet. At The Terry Fox Foundation, Stephen offers his consulting experience and his background in serving many boards.

Angela Carmichael
Chair, Marketing and Communications Committee

Angela Carmichael (Dartmouth) is President of FleishmanHillard HighRoad. With over 20 years of communications experience, she understands the value of building successful partnerships and solid storytelling for communications success. A cancer survivor, Angela is a direct beneficiary of the Terry Fox Foundation work and shares Terry’s vision to live in a world free of cancer. She and her family are active Terry Fox run participants and fundraisers.

Diane Dou
Chair, Audit & Finance Committee

Diane Dou (Vancouver) is the Managing Director & Financial Services Lead, Western Canada at EY. She works with Banks, Credit Unions, Wealth Management firms, Capital Management companies, Family Offices and Consulting firms. She is a value based leader, who is passionate about making a positive impact in the lives of people and overall health of communities. Diane is a passionate leader, who brings to the Foundation her ability to inspire and drive sustainable change.

Katherine Kay

Katherine Kay (Toronto) is a senior partner at Stikeman Elliot LLP, repeatedly recognized as a leading litigator in Canada. Katherine has served on her firm’s partnership board and executive committee and is currently on her second tour of duty on the Toronto office management committee. She is currently a director of The Advocates’ Society, a national association of advocates, and has served for several years on the United Way Major Individual Giving Cabinet. She and her family are long-time supporters of The Terry Fox Foundation and the annual Terry Fox Run.

John Kearsey
Chair, Governance and Nominating Committee

John Kearsey (Toronto) is the President and CEO, ROM Governers. In 2020, the Association of Fundraising Professionals (Manitoba) named John as the Fundraising Executive of the Year. He is new to the Terry Fox Foundation Board of Directors, but far from new to keeping Terry’s ambitious goal alive to eliminate cancer through research. Terry’s impact on John’s life is documented in the bestselling book, Forever Terry: A Legacy in Letters. John is also an alumnus of the Terry Fox Humanitarian Award and serves as its board chair.

Jim Woodgett

Dr. Jim Woodgett is the President and Scientific Director of the Terry Fox Research Institute. He is also a Senior Scientist at the Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute at Sinai Health and Professor in the Department of Medical Biophysics, University of Toronto.